The opportunity to raise standards in swimming is a statutory aspect of the National Curriculum.


All children must learn how to swim. Schools must provide swimming instruction either in key stage 1 or key stage 2.


In particular, pupils should be taught to:

- swim competently, confidently and proficiently over a distance of at least 25 metres

- use a range of strokes effectively [for example, front crawl, backstroke and breaststroke]

 - perform safe self-rescue in different water-based situations.



Swimming Dates 2019-2020
Year 4 - Monday 20th - Friday 24th April 2020
Year 5 - Monday 25th - Friday 29th November 2019 
Year 6 - Monday 18th - Friday 22nd November 2019